Home > News > Press Releases 

Change in Ohio Law Requires Professionals to Report Elder Abuse


Media contact: Miranda Pomiecko: (216) 698-2546; mpomiecko@cuyahogacounty.us

Expanded list of mandated reporters includes financial services, medical staff and other workers who serve seniors

CLEVELAND, OH – Updates to Ohio law regarding Adult Protective Services (APS) take effect this weekend. The law is aimed at stopping or preventing often unreported cases of elder abuse. One of the major changes is the expanded list of mandated reporters. These professionals are now required to report suspected abuse or neglect to local APS investigators at the Cuyahoga County Division of Senior and Adult Services.

“I am pleased that the State of Ohio has expanded the list of mandated reporters,” said Cuyahoga County Executive Armond Budish. “We must continue to work together as a community to promote the social and emotional well-being of older adults.”

The expanded list of mandated reporters includes:

Ambulance drivers
Emergency technicians/paramedics
Building/Housing inspectors
Dialysis technicians
Health department employees
Mental health agency employees 
County human society employees
Real estate brokers
Notary publics
Bank, savings & loan, credit union employees
Investment advisors
Financial planners

Elder abuse is defined as an intentional or neglectful act that harms an older adult age 60 or older. It includes:
  • Physical, Emotional, or Sexual Abuse 
  • Neglect 
  • Self-neglect 
  • Financial exploitation 

In the United States, only about 1 of every 10 cases of elder abuse, neglect or financial exploitation is reported. Suspected cases of abuse or neglect should be reported by calling 216-420-6700 or online using the APS referral website.

Red Flags of Abuse
About Adult Protective Services

The mission of the Division of Senior and Adult Services (DSAS) is to empower seniors and adults with disabilities to age successfully by providing resources and support that preserve their independence. DSAS delivers services to seniors age 60 and above.