Home > Initiatives > Citizens’ Advisory Council on Equity

Citizens’ Advisory Council on Equity

Submit a Public Comment

Cuyahoga County and County Council have declared racism as a public health crisis in Cuyahoga County. Following this declaration, the Citizens’ Advisory Council on Equity was formed to:

  • Encourage community outreach and public participation in the development of equity goals, strategies, and programs.
  • Provide recommendations and input to the Executive and County Council regarding the development of equity goals, strategies, and programs.
  • Meet publicly to provide a forum for the public to offer ideas and recommendations regarding equity.

The Council is charged with providing recommendations to reduce disparity in:

  • Healthcare (child welfare and suicide rates and life expectancy)
  • Criminal justice system
  • Access to healthy foods
  • Safe and affordable housing
  • Well-paying jobs and economic opportunity
  • Quality transportation
  • Educational opportunities
  • Safe places to be active

Who serves on the Council?

The Council is composed of 17 members appointed by the Cuyahoga County Executive and Cuyahoga County Council President.

The current chair is Eddie Taylor (Owner Taylor Oswald LLC; Chair of University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center; Chairman of President’s Council)

Council Members

Name  Organization
 Rabbi Joshua Caruso Anshe Chesed Fairmount Temple
 Stephen Caviness Director of Project Management, Team NEO
 Rev. Kenneth Chalker Retired Senior Pastor, University Circle United Methodist Church)
 Jenice Contreras Executive Director, Northeast Ohio Hispanic Center for Economic Development
 Habeebah Grimes CEO, Positive Education Program
 Dr. Heidi Gullett Medical Director, Cuyahoga County Board of Health
 Phyllis Harris Executive Director for the LGBTQ Community Center of Greater Cleveland
 India Pierce Lee Senior VP, The Cleveland Foundation
 Randy McShepard VP of Public Affairs and Chief Talent Officer, RPM International
 Marsha Mockabee President and CEO of the Urban League of Greater Cleveland
 Levine Ross Cuyahoga County Council Policy Advisor and Social Work Instructor at Cleveland State University
 Victor Ruiz Executive Director of Esparanza, Inc
 Yanela Sims Ohio State Director of Service Employees International Union Local 1
 Cordell Stokes Chairman and CEO at CLC Stokes Consulting Group
 Danielle Sydnor President of Cleveland Branch NAACP
 Eddie Taylor Owner Taylor Oswald LLC;
 Sheila Wright President, The Good Community Foundation


Meetings August 31, 2020


Meeting Archive